Why Men Can Be Gynecologists If That’s What They Want To Do

I just read an article titled “Why Are Men Gynecologists?” It brought up some interesting questions. I, myself, have always wondered why men would want to be gynecologists. Everyone knew that perv in middle school who said he wanted to be one, but quickly gave up that dream after he learned what a gynecologist actually does. Besides them though, I can’t imagine who would actually want to be a ob/gyn. I certainly don’t know any women running around dying to be urologists.

This raises an important concern though. Why does it matter who wants to be a gynecologist? Why does it matter what their motivations are? More importantly, why can’t they do what they want to do without question?

Why is it we push women to do whatever job they want to do, regardless of what gender that historically has filled that job, but the second a man wants to do a job considered to be outside the realm of a “man’s work” we are up in arms about it? How can we, in good conscience, preach equality in the workforce, and turn around and reject men the opportunity to be equal?

Don’t get me wrong. I am no Suzanne Venker. I don’t think men are being endlessly persecuted, and susceptible to “reverse sexism“, if that is even a real thing.

I just think that if we are going to push for gender equality, it should be true equality. If we are going to push for women to have any job they want, men should be afforded that same right, regardless of how foreign their desire for it may be to anyone else.

Because let’s be honest, at the end of the day, if you don’t want to talk to men about your genitals, you don’t have to.

Leave a comment