A Letter To Derek Jeter

Dear Mr. Jeter,

This letter is written to you from my heart; from a Red Sox fan to a low-life Yankee. A week ago you said you were going to retire from baseball at the end of the 2014 season. The legend that my generation grew up with will no longer be playing in MLB. And yes, as a Red Sox fan, I am fully willing to admit that you are a legend. If anyone can’t admit that, they are fooling themselves.

You have been playing baseball in the Major Leagues for almost as long as I have been alive. I’ve heard about you ever since I learned how to understand words. I’ve watched you play ever since I developed an understanding for the sport of baseball. You were the first baseball player I ever learned about. Before I knew that Sox was spelled with an ‘x’, I knew who Derek Jeter was. That is how important you are to the sport of baseball.

On the same token, ever since I learned what a pattern was I thought pinstripes were hideous. Ever since I learned what a Yankee was I knew they were some sort of Commies hell-bent on ruining the world. Ever since I learned who you were, I knew you were a bad, bad man (no matter what my aunt or all those People Magazine covers said about you). As long as I have known who you were I have never had any positive feelings for you.

So I should be happy that you’re retiring. One less Yankee legend for us Sox fans to worry about. But for some reason, I’m not happy about it. I’m oddly sentimental. Part of me gets your choice. I wouldn’t want to play another season with A-Rod either. He is a taint on America’s beloved pastime.

But if you don’t play next year, all the fun goes out the window. There is no one on the Yankees that I care about hating but you. I care about hating you, because it’s fun. I care about hating you because you’re a really good player and a formidable opponent for us. I don’t care about hating Ellsbury because I’m too hurt by him leaving and really all he ever did was steal bases (yes, I’m salty). I don’t care about hating Youkilis because I still love him and I still wear my Youk Red Sox shirt (sue me). And I don’t care about hating ARod, because he isn’t someone you have to care about hating. He is just someone you hate and don’t have to think about or put effort into it (plus I highly doubt he’ll actually be allowed to play when and if he comes back in 2015).

I have to actively hate you and I love that. If you leave, WHO WILL BE LEFT TO HATE DEREK? CC? Beltran? That’s a joke. I couldn’t care less about those guys. You’re the one I love to hate and if you leave baseball, you’ll break my heart. When I told my best friend why I was writing this letter she said “yes Jordan, I’m sure your hatred of him is what he cares about”. In all of her pointed sarcasm, she has a point. You don’t care that I hate you. You don’t care that I won’t care about hating any particular Yankee once you leave. It’s not going to change your mind and make you stay in baseball.

As you already said, there are “other things” you want to do. I’m not gonna stop you from expanding your dating diamond, Jeter. Every team needs backups. I get that. You do you. I guess all I really want to say to you now is that as much as I hate you, the game won’t be the same without you. This will be a season for the books and I can’t wait to enjoy it. And I definitely can’t wait for your last regular season game at Fenway. Maybe I’ll even buy tickets just so I can refuse to give you a standing ovation.

Leave a comment